Board of Education Special Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 March 28, 2012

President Duane Teter called the special meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:38 p.m. on March 28, 2012, at the Southwest Elementary School in Indianola.

Present: Steve McConville, Crinda McConville, Steve Daffer, Duane Teter, Kevin Potthoff, Principal Carrie Rasmussen, and Superintendent Clayton Waddle.

Absent: Tom Sughroue.

Visitors: David Wilson.

President Teter observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by Daffer, to excuse absent Board Member, Tom Sughroue. Ayes: Potthoff, Daffer, Teter, C. McConville, and S. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Sughroue. Motion carried.

Moved by Potthoff, seconded by S. McConville, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: Daffer, Potthoff, C. McConville, Teter, and S. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Sughroue. Motion carried

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by the board approved method of meeting notice. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to the president of the board and all members prior to the meeting date.

David Wilson of W Design Associates of McCook presented a new plan for Phase I which includes the demolition of the 1923 building, relocation of the utilities for the gym and life skills building and two existing wall heaters, installation of a wall on the west side of the gym, and the addition of restrooms and a concession stand/kitchen. The board also decided to expand the existing locker rooms and to create an area to house the power and other utilities. The estimated cost for the project is between \$270,662 and \$410,069.

The Board discussed short and long-range plans of the district submitted by board members, administration, and staff. Moved by Potthoff, seconded by C. McConville, to approve the short and long-range plans as discussed at the February 28 board meeting as presented with the addition of renovation of the locker rooms at the old gym. Ayes: S. McConville, Daffer, C. McConville, Teter, and Potthoff. Nays: None. Absent: Sughroue. Motion carried.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by Daffer, to adjourn the meeting at 8:53 p.m. Ayes: S. McConville, Daffer, C. McConville, Potthoff, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Sughroue. Motion carried.