Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 January 14, 2013

President Duane Teter called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:31 p.m. on January 14, 2013 at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.

Present: Tom Sughroue, Kevin Potthoff, Steve McConville, Steve Daffer, Duane Teter, Ondrea McConville, Principals Carrie Rasmussen and Matt Springer, Superintendent Clayton Waddle, and Patricia Smith.

Absent: None.

Visitors: Mary Marsh, Kris Marotta, Linda Clark, Don and Donna Behnke, Anne Kennedy, Karen Brown, Don Ellicott, Marcia Herring, and Crinda McConville.

Board members Ondrea McConville, Steve Daffer, and Duane Teter were sworn in to the Southwest Board of Education.

Superintendent Waddle observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by Daffer, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: Daffer, Sughroue, Potthoff, Teter, and S. McConville. Nays: None. Abstain: O. McConville. Motion carried.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by the board approved method of meeting notice. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to the president of the board and all members prior to the meeting date.

Anne Kennedy and Karen Brown, first grade instructors, thanked the Board for providing instruction for the writing workshop curriculum, which teaches students good creative writing skills.

The Board was informed of awards and recognitions during the past month including results of the high school at the RPAC Quiz Bowl and Kate Kelley was featured on the Huskerland Prep website for her efforts on the girls' basketball team.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by Sughroue, to approve the December 10 and 15 and January 3 board meeting minutes as presented. Ayes: Sughroue, Potthoff, Daffer, Teter, and S. McConville. Nays: None. Abstain: O. McConville. Motion carried.

Moved by Potthoff, seconded by Daffer, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: Sughroue, S. McConville, Daffer, O. McConville, Teter, and Potthoff. Nays: None. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented to the Board.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by Sughroue, to approve an agreement with Option 1 in the amount of \$6,000.00 with the Nebraska Association of School Boards for the superintendent search. Ayes: O. McConville, Sughroue, Potthoff, Daffer, Teter, and S. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by S. McConville, to adjourn sine die and elect school board officers for the 2013 calendar year. Ayes: O. McConville, Sughroue, Potthoff, Daffer, Teter, and S. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by Daffer, to elect Teter as president, Sughroue as vice-president, S. McConville as treasurer, and Daffer as secretary. Ayes: S. McConville, Teter, Sughroue, Potthoff, O. McConville, and Daffer. Nays: None. Motion carried.

As there was no other reason for sine die, the meeting was resumed following the election of officers.

President Teter appointed Daffer, Sughroue, and O. McConville to the Americanism Committee; Daffer, Potthoff, and S. McConville to the Transportation Committee; Potthoff, Sughroue, and Teter to the Building and Grounds Committee; S. McConville, Sughroue, and Teter to the Negotiations Committee; and O. McConville to the Foundation Board.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by Daffer, to authorize Board Officers to sign checks for the General, Contingency, Special Building, Depreciation, Employee Benefit, Bond, Cooperative and Qualified Capital Purpose Undertaking Funds in accordance with Board Policy 2002. Ayes: S. McConville, Teter, Sughroue, Potthoff, O. McConville, and Daffer. Nays: None. Motion carried.

The Board reviewed and signed the Code of Conduct document as written by the Nebraska Association of School Boards.

Board members who may have potential conflicts reviewed and signed a Potential Conflict of Interest Statement as required by the Nebraska Accountability and Disclosure Commission.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by O. McConville, to designate the Adams Bank & Trust and the State Bank of Bartley as the district's official depositories. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, O. McConville, Potthoff, Teter, and Daffer. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Potthoff, seconded by S. McConville, to designate the Indianola News as the district's official news publication. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, O. McConville, Teter, Potthoff, and Daffer. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Daffer, seconded by Sughroue, to approve Payment Application #3 from EAD Constructors, Inc. in the amount of \$32,465.22. Ayes: Sughroue, S. McConville, Potthoff, Teter, O. McConville, and Daffer. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by O. McConville, to approve Change Order #3 with an increase in the original contract with EAD Constructors, Inc. in the amount of \$974.34 to be paid by W Design Associates. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, Potthoff, Teter, O. McConville, and Daffer. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by Daffer, to approve the 2013-2014 Negotiated Agreement Addendum with the Southwest Teachers' Association. Ayes: Daffer, S. McConville, O. McConville, Sughroue, Teter, and Potthoff. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Potthoff, seconded by S. McConville, to approve the renewal of the cooperative swimming/diving agreement for 2013-2014 and 2014-2015 school years with McCook Public Schools as presented. Ayes: Daffer, S. McConville, O. McConville, Sughroue, Teter, and Potthoff. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Potthoff, seconded by S. McConville, to approve no school for elementary students on Thursday, February 14, 2013, due to a new science curriculum workshop. Ayes: Daffer, S. McConville, O. McConville, Sughroue, Teter, and Potthoff. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Superintendent Waddle discussed the recent legal settlement and the transactions which have been made by the district and the 2013 Education Forum and ESU 15 Board Member Workshop registration. Mr. Waddle also discussed possible practice gym building finishes on the reconstruction project and thanked Crinda McConville for her service as a Southwest School board member.

Principal Springer reported on RPAC activities hosted at Southwest, updated the Board on possible coach bus purchases and practice gym facilities, Grades 9-11 current enrollment, a School Improvement meeting on January 28th with no school in the district, and the recent Safety Meeting with

the Red Willow County Sheriff's Department. He and Mrs. Rasmussen also thanked Crinda McConville for her years of service as a school board member.

Principal Rasmussen reported on winter testing within the district, DARE instruction, and upcoming elementary events and meetings.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by S. McConville, to adjourn the meeting at 9:00 p.m.. Ayes: Daffer, Sughroue, S. McConville, Teter, O. McConville, and Potthoff. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, February 11, 2013, at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Elementary School in Indianola.