Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 March 11, 2019

Vice-President Ondrea McConville called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:30 p.m. on March 11, 2019 at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.

Present: Jennifer McConville, Ondrea McConville, Jason Kloepping, Jason Neseth, John O'Dea, Principal Kathy Latta, Superintendent Todd Porter, and Patricia Smith.

Absent: Duane Teter.

Visitors: Cody Gerlach.

Vice-President McConville observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by Neseth, to excuse absent board member Duane Teter. Ayes: J. McConville, O. McConville, O'Dea, Kloepping, and Neseth. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by Kloepping, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: O'Dea, O. McConville, Neseth, Kloepping, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by the board-approved method of meeting notice. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to all members prior to the meeting date.

Superintendent Porter reported that Kailey Wilcox, Corinne Baker and Johanna Sughroue were selected for the prestigious Nebraska Youth Artist Award. Welding teams participated at MCC on March 11 with Jay Porter receiving first in MIG Welding.

Moved by Neseth, seconded by J. McConville, to approve the minutes of the February 11, 2019 board meeting minutes as presented. Ayes: O. McConville, J. McConville, Kloepping, O'Dea, and Neseth. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by Kloepping, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: Neseth, Kloepping, O'Dea, J. McConville, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented to the Board.

Moved by Neseth, seconded by J. McConvIIe, to approve the Resolution on School District Standards for Rejection of Option Enrollment Applications for the 2019-2020 school year. Ayes: O'Dea, J. McConville, Neseth, O. McConville, and Kloepping. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to approve a 5% pay increase for non-certified staff for the 2019-2020 school year. Ayes: Neseth, Kloepping, O. McConville, O'Dea and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by O'Dea, to approve offering all returning teachers a contract for the 2019-2020 school year as recommended by the Administration. Ayes: Kloepping, O. McConville, O'Dea, Neseth, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by Neseth, seconded by J. McConville, to renew contracts with Kathy Latta as elementary principal and Matt Springer as the junior-senior high school principal for the 2019-2020 school year with a 3% salary increase. Ayes: J. McConville, Neseth, O'Dea, Kloepping, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Superintendent Porter reported on legislative issues focused on property tax relief and a Western Nebraska Administrators Meeting on March 26 with information on the Nebraska Department of Education AQuESTT program.

Principal Latta reported on the elementary student assessments for the Nebraska Reading Improvement Act.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, April 8, 2019 at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Elementary School in Indianola.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Neseth, to adjourn the meeting at 8:27 p.m. Ayes: Kloepping, Neseth, O'Dea, J. McConville, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.