Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 March 13, 2017

President Duane Teter called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:33 p.m. on March 13, 2017 at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.

Present: Duane Teter, Ondrea McConville, Jenni McConville, Jason Kloepping, Principal Kathy Latta, Principal Matt Springer, Superintendent Todd Porter, and Natalie Meyers.

Absent: Lynda Baumbach and John O'Dea

Visitors: Jody Hyke, Cody Gerlach, Don and Donna Behnke

President Teter observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by J. McConville, to excuse absent Board Members Lynda Baumbach and John O'Dea. Ayes: Kloepping, O. McConville, J. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach and O'Dea. Motion carried.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by O. McConville, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: Kloepping, O. McConville, J. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach and O'Dea. Motion carried.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by the board-approved method of meeting notice. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to all members prior to the meeting date.

Awards & Recognition-The Senior Class had a successful trip to the Unicameral on March 2nd and the HS QB Team placed 2nd at the Maywood QB on March 7th. Southwest welders Sean Anderson, Patrick Sughroue, and Kaleb Sughroue were district champions at district welding at MCC on March 13th.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by J. McConville, to approve the minutes of the February 13th, 2017 board meeting minutes as presented. Ayes: O. McConville, Kloepping, J. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach and O'Dea. Motion carried.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by Kloepping, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: Teter, J. McConville, Kloepping, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach and O'Dea. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented to the Board.

John O'Dea arrived at the meeting at 7:43 p.m.

Item 1 of new business, was tabled as presenter is waiting on figures and more information to present to the board.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by J. McConville, to approve the purchase of 150 Dell Chrome Books up to the amount of \$50,000.00 as replacement laptops for grades 7-12. Ayes: Kloepping, Teter, O. McConville, O'Dea and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to approve the bid from Sterling West in the amount of \$7,995 for playground mulch at the elementary. Ayes: Kloepping, Teter, O. McConville, O'Dea and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by J. McConville, to approve the bid from McCook Floor Covering in the amount of \$12,030 for carpet and flooring in the preschool and offices of the elementary school. Ayes: Kloepping, Teter, O. McConville, O'Dea and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to approve an additional 12 days to Les Roggenkamp's contract for Assistant Activity Director Duties for the 2017-2018 school year. Ayes: Kloepping, Teter, O. McConville, O'Dea and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Kloepping, to accept the resignation of school Nurse Mary Beth Eisenmenger. Ayes: Kloepping, Teter, O. McConville, O'Dea and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

The Board thanked Mrs. Eisenmenger for her years of service to the district.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to approve the teaching contract for Brooke Teel for the Family/Consumer Science position for the 2017-2018 school year. Ayes: Kloepping, Teter, O. McConville, O'Dea and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by Kloepping, to approve the pay rate increase for substitute teacher's to \$110 per day for the 2017-2018 school year. Ayes: Kloepping, Teter, O. McConville, O'Dea and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Kloepping, to approve a 4% pay increase for non-certified staff for the 2017-2018 school year. Ayes: Kloepping, Teter, O. McConville, O'Dea and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach . Motion carried.

Item 10 of New Business, discussion of the principals' contracts, would be addressed following the Administrators' reports

Superintendent Porter reported that he and other staff members will be attending a Standard Response Protocol training on March 16th at ESU 15. This is a statewide effort to have all schools respond to emergencies in a similar fashion. NRCSA conference is March 23rd and 24th. New health and nutrition policies will be introduced to schools soon.

Principal Latta reported the elementary celebrated Nebraska's 150th Birthday on March 1st with wagon rides and local artists. New staff members, Kellie Schultz and Monica Ebert have started work in the daycare. Kindergarten Orientation was a success, with 19 students registered for the upcoming school year. Parent Teacher Conferences were March 7th and on March 30th the elementary will be having a family literacy luau from 6-7 pm. There are still openings in the preschool for the 2017-2018 school year.

Principal Springer reported he will be attending the NRCSA conference March 23rd and 24th. The first HS Track meet is schedule for March 22nd and first golf meet is the 29th. Dirt work for the track project has started and is ahead of schedule. He thanked Brooks Construction for their work on this project. Maps testing at the High School is finished and on March 16th, art students will be traveling to Denver, Co to the Denver Art Museum.

Moved by Teter, seconded by Kloepping, to go into closed session to discuss personnel to protect the needless injury to the reputation of an individual at 8:50 p.m. President Teter repeated the motion, and the Board voted. Ayes: J. McConville, Teter, O'Dea, Kloepping, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

President Teter declared the end of closed session at 9:07 pm.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by J. McConville, to renew the contracts with Kathy Latta as elementary principal and Matt Springer as the junior-senior high school principal for the 2017-2018 school year. Ayes: J. McConville, Teter, O'Dea, Kloepping, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by J. McConville, to adjourn the meeting at 9:10 pm. Ayes: O'Dea, Teter, J. McConville, Kloepping, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, April 10th, 2017, at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Elementary School in Indianola.