Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 June 13, 2016

President Duane Teter called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:30 p.m. on June 13, 2016 at the Southwest Elementary School in Indianola.

Present: Duane Teter, Ondrea McConville, Jenni McConville, Steve Daffer, Lynda Baumbach, John O'Dea, Principal Kathy Latta, Principal Matt Springer, Superintendent Todd Porter, and Patricia Smith.

Absent: None.

Visitors: Cody Gerlach.

President Teter observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by O. McConville, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: Daffer, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, O'Dea, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by the board-approved method of meeting notice. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to all members prior to the meeting date.

Moved by Daffer, seconded by Baumbach, to approve the minutes of the May 9, 2016 board meeting minutes as presented. Ayes: O. McConville, Daffer, J. McConville, Baumbach, O'Dea, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by Daffer, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: Teter, J. McConville, Daffer, Baumbach, O'Dea, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented to the Board.

Moved by Baumbach, seconded by O'Dea, to appoint R. Todd Porter, Superintendent of Schools, as the authorized representative for all local, state, and federal programs and documents as of July 1, 2016. Ayes: O'Dea, O. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, J. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by Baumbach, to appoint R. Todd Porter, Superintendent of Schools, as the Title IX compliance officer as of July 1, 2016. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to approve participation in the state and federal hot lunch program with R. Todd Porter, Superintendent of Schools, as the hearing officer as of July 1, 2016. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Daffer, Baumbach, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Daffer, to approve Superintendent R. Todd Porter to transact business on behalf of the district at financial institutions as of July 1, 2016. Ayes: J. McConville, O. McConville, Daffer, Baumbach, O'Dea, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Daffer, seconded by O'Dea, to appoint Patricia Smith as the Recording Secretary for the 2016-2017 school year. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Daffer, Baumbach, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Baumbach, seconded by O'Dea, to appoint Matt Springer, Secondary Principal, as the determining official for all hot lunch applications received from students in Grades 7-12. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Daffer, Baumbach, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Daffer, to appoint Kathy Latta, Elementary Principal, as the determining official for all hot lunch applications received from students in Pre-Kindergarten-Grade 6. Ayes: J. McConville, Daffer, Baumbach, O. McConville, O'Dea, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by Baumbach, to adopt revised Board Policy 2005 - Conflict of Interest. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by J. McConville, to adopt revised Board Policy 3018 - Denying Access to School Premises or Activities. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to adopt revised Board Policy 4012 - Staff Internet and Computer Use. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Daffer, seconded by J. McConville, to adopt revised Board Policy 4015 - Prohibition Against Employment of Board Members as Teachers. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Baumbach, seconded by Daffer, to adopt revised Board Policy 5004 - Option Enrollment. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to adopt the Resolution on School District Standards for Acceptance or Rejection of Option Enrollment Applications. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Baumbach, seconded by O. McConville, to adopt revised Board Policy 5028 -Initiations and Hazing. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Daffer, to adopt revised Board Policy 5033 - Student Driving and Parking. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Baumbach, seconded by J. McConville, to adopt new Board Policy 5053 – Self-Management of Diabetes or Asthma/Anaphylaxis. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by Baumbach, to adopt new Board Policy 5063 - Audio and Video Recording. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Daffer, seconded by O. McConville, to adopt revised Board Policy 6024 - Student Discipline. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Baumbach, to adopt revised Board Policy 6028 - Field Trips. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Superintendent Porter reported on the recent School Law Seminar, the status of elementary summer maintenance projects, and progress of custodial and maintenance staff.

Principal Springer reported on fifteen junior and senior high school students reporting to summer school for credit recovery and instruction for struggling junior high students.

Principal Latta reported on fourteen elementary students participating in summer school and the planned replacement of classroom heat and air conditioning units.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to adjourn the meeting at 8:39 p.m. Ayes: O'Dea, Teter, J. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, July 11, 2016, at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.