Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 January 9, 2017

President Duane Teter called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:40 p.m. on January 9, 2017 at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.

Present: Jennifer McConville, Ondrea McConville, John O'Dea, Duane Teter, Principals Kathy Latta and Matt Springer, Superintendent Todd Porter, and Patricia Smith.

Absent: Lynda Baumbach.

Visitors: Cody Gerlach.

President Teter observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by J. McConville, to excuse absent Board Member Lynda Baumbach. Ayes: O. McConville, O'Dea, Teter, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by O. McConville, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: O. McConville, O'Dea, Teter, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by the board-approved method of meeting notice. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to all members prior to the meeting date.

Superintendent Porter reported on the results of the December 14 FFA competition.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to approve the minutes of the November 14, 2016 board meeting minutes as presented. Ayes: O. McConville, J. McConville, O'Dea, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by O. McConville, to approve the minutes of the December 12, 2016 board meeting minutes as presented. Ayes: O. McConville, J. McConville, O'Dea, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by J. McConville, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: O'Dea, Teter, J. McConville, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented to the Board.

Superintendent Porter adjourned the meeting sine die to elect school board officers for the 2017 calendar year.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to nominate elected officers remain in the same positions (Teter as president, O. McConville as vice-president, and O'Dea as treasurer) as in 2016, and nominate Jason Kleopping as secretary. Ayes: O. McConville, Teter, J. McConville, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

President Teter then presided during the remainder of the meeting.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to approve committee members as appointed by President Teter as follows: O. McConville, Kloepping, and Baumbach to the Americanism Committee; Kloepping, J. McConville, and O'Dea to the Transportation Committee; Teter, Baumbach, and J. McConville to the Building and Grounds Committee; Teter, O'Dea, and O. McConville to the Negotiations Committee; and O'Dea to the Foundation Board. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, O'Dea, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to authorize all Board Officers to sign checks for the General, Contingency, Special Building, Depreciation, Employee Benefit, Bond, Cooperative and Qualified Capital Purpose Undertaking Funds in accordance with Board Policy 2002. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, O'Dea, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by J. McConville, to designate the Adams Bank & Trust and the State Bank of Bartley as the district's official depositories. Ayes: J. McConville, O'Dea, O. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by J. McConville, to designate the Cambridge Clarion as the district's official news publication. Ayes: J. McConville, O. McConville, Teter, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

New Business Action Item #6 "discuss and take appropriate action on teacher negotiations for the 2017-2018 school year" was tabled until the February board meeting as no discussion had been scheduled with the Southwest Teachers Association.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by O. McConville, to offer a contract to Miranda Teel for the preschool/intervention position for the 2017-2018 school year. Ayes: Teter, O'Dea, J. McConville, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Superintendent Porter reported on the scheduled meeting with the Fisher Track representatives to stake out the track project, upcoming workshops, and the Governor's statement to propose no cuts in K-12 education for 2017-2018 funding.

Principal Latta reported on Christmas parties and the December 19 program, winter testing, the soffit project, and the number of 2017-2018 preschool applications.

Principal Springer reported on the January 11 teacher in-service and RPAC Quiz Bowl, the ESU #15 teacher in-service on January 15, the coach bus heat issues, and the productivity of snow removal upon purchase of the skid loader brush.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, February 13, 2017 at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Elementary School in Indianola.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by J. McConville, to adjourn the meeting at 8:03 p.m. Ayes: Teter, O'Dea, J. McConville, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.