Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 January 13, 2014

President Duane Teter called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:30 p.m. on January 13, 2014 at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.

Present: Tom Sughroue, Steve McConville, Ondrea McConville, Duane Teter, Principal Lynda Baumbach, Superintendent Todd Porter, and Patricia Smith.

Absent: Kevin Potthoff and Steve Daffer.

Visitors: Mary Marsh, Cody Gerlach, Linda Clark, Don & Donna Behnke, Mary Shirkey, and Don Ellicott.

President Teter observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by S. McConville, to excuse absent Board Members Steve Daffer and Kevin Potthoff. Ayes: Sughroue, S. McConville, O. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer and Potthoff. Motion carried.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by Sughroue, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: O. McConville, Sughroue, S. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer and Potthoff. Motion carried.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by the board-approved method of meeting notice. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to all members prior to the meeting date.

Superintendent Porter reviewed the honors and awards of junior-senior high students during the past month.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by Sughroue, to approve the December 9, 2013 board meeting minutes as presented. Ayes: O. McConville, Teter, S. McConville, and Sughroue. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer and Potthoff. Motion carried.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by S. McConville, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, O. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer and Potthoff. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented to the Board.

The meeting was adjourned sine die to elect board officers for the 2014 calendar year.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by Sughroue, to elect board members to the same offices as for the 2013 calendar year with Teter as president, Sughroue as vice-president, S. McConville as treasurer, Daffer as secretary, and O. McConville to the Foundation Board. Ayes: S. McConville, Teter, Sughroue, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer and Potthoff. Motion carried.

As there was no other reason for sine die, the meeting was resumed following the election of officers.

President Teter appointed Daffer, Sughroue, and O. McConville to the Americanism Committee; Daffer, Potthoff, and S. McConville to the Transportation Committee; Potthoff, Sughroue, and Teter to the Building and Grounds Committee; and S. McConville, Sughroue, and Teter to the Negotiations Committee.

Since there was no change to Board Officers no action was taken on Item 3 of New Business Action Items, which was the Authorization of Board Officers to sign checks.

Board members who may have potential conflicts were reviewed and a Potential Conflict of Interest Statement, as required by the Nebraska Accountability and Disclosure Commission, had been completed previously.

Board members were in consensus that the Adams Bank & Trust and the State Bank of Bartley remain as the district's official depositories.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by S. McConville, to designate the Indianola News as the district's official news publication. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, O. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer and Potthoff. Motion carried.

After reviewing the plans of Walter Lewis of JLB Welding to sell advertising and benches for placement within the district, members of the Board voiced the opinion that the Administration make decisions concerning the location of the benches.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by O. McConville, to declare as surplus, according to Board Policy 3019 Sale or Disposal of School Property, a list of items as presented for the January 18, 2013 auction with the addition of wooden poles. Ayes: Sughroue, S. McConville, O. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer and Potthoff. Motion carried.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by S. McConville, to cancel Parent-Teacher Conferences on February 4, 2014, due to scheduled junior and senior high activities. Parent-Teacher Conferences will be held on Wednesday, February 5, 2014, and parents unable to attend will receive cooperation from instructors to arrange a conference. Ayes: Sughroue, S. McConville, O. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer and Potthoff. Motion carried.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by Sughroue, to increase the district's mileage reimbursement rate from \$.30/mile to \$.56/mile, or the current state and federal reimbursement rate. Ayes: Sughroue, S. McConville, O. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer and Potthoff. Motion carried.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by O. McConville, to approve a contract with Kathy Latta as elementary principal for the 2014-2015 school year. Ayes: Sughroue, S. McConville, O. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer and Potthoff. Motion carried.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by Sughroue, to approve the contract with ESU #16 and the Southwest Nebraska Distance Learning Network for distance education network courses and internet service in the amount of \$22,000.00 for the 2014-'15 school year. Ayes: O. McConville, Sughroue, Teter, and S. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer and Potthoff. Motion carried.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by Sughroue, to approve the option enrollment application for the children of Kristine Holly. Ayes: Sughroue, S. McConville, O. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer and Potthoff. Motion carried.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by S. McConville, to approve the written evaluation comments by Board members for Superintendent Todd Porter. Ayes: Sughroue, O. McConville, S. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer and Potthoff. Motion carried.

Superintendent Porter reported on upcoming meetings scheduled for the next two months.

Principal Baumbach discussed the upcoming ESU Principals' meeting, the NeSA state writing assessments, a District Title review, the HHS daycare review, Kindergarten Round-up, and the enrollment of four new students for second semester.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by S. McConville, to adjourn the meeting at 8:15 p.m. Ayes: Sughroue, S. McConville, Teter, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer and Potthoff. Motion carried. Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, February 10, 2014, at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Elementary School in Indianola.