Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 January 12, 2015

Superintendent Todd Porter called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:30 p.m. on January 12, 2015 at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.

Present: Duane Teter, Ondrea McConville, Jenni McConville, John O'Dea, Lynda Baumbach, Principals Kathy Latta and Matt Springer, Superintendent Todd Porter, and Patricia Smith.

Absent: Steve Daffer.

Visitors: Mary Marsh, Cody Gerloch, Don & Donna Behnke, and Jason Kloepping.

Past-president Duane Teter resided at the meeting until election of officers.

Past-president Teter observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Lynda Baumbach read the Oath of Office, and each new board member signed their Oath of Office document.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by J. McConville, to excuse absent Board Member Steve Daffer. Ayes: O. McConville, J. McConville, O'Dea, Baumbach, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer. Motion carried.

Moved by Baumbach, seconded by O'Dea, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: O. McConville, Baumbach, J. McConville, O'Dea, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer. Motion carried.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by the board-approved method of meeting notice. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to all members prior to the meeting date.

Superintendent Porter informed the Board of student awards and recognition during the past month. Ellie Adam Brown and Erin Greenlee were selected for the State FFA Honor Choir. Twenty students, grade seven through nine, will be participating in the Singing Youth of Nebraska Vocal Clinic on January 17. Jackson Porter was selected to the UNK Honor Choir, Megan Helberg and Karlie Swink to the UNK Festival Choir, and Ellie Adam Brown to the UNK Women's Choir on January 26. Students selected for the Wayne State College Honor Bands were Johanna Sughroue, Suzanne Roggenkamp, Brady Porter, Alex Porter, and Erin Greenlee. The Economics class participated in the Stock Market Game and ranked 27 out of 214. Students selected to the NCPA Fall Seasons Academic All-State Awards were Austin Minard and Jackson Porter in football, Kyle Van Pelt in play production, and Ashlee Morosic in volleyball. The Excellence Honor Roll consists of fourteen students, and the Honor Roll lists twenty-three students.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to approve the minutes of the December 8, 2014 board meeting minutes as presented. Ayes: Baumbach, O. McConville, J. McConville, O'Dea, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer. Motion carried.

Moved by Baumbach, seconded by O'Dea, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: Teter, O'Dea, J. McConville, Baumbach, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented to the Board.

Superintendent Porter adjourned the meeting sine die to elect school board officers for the 2015 calendar year.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by J. McConville, to elect Teter as president. Moved by Baumbach, seconded by O'Dea, to cease nominations. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Teter, to elect O. McConville as vice-president. Moved by Baumbach, seconded by O'Dea, to cease nominations. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by O. McConville, to elect Daffer as secretary. Moved by Baumbach, seconded by J. McConville, to cease nominations. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer. Motion carried.

Moved by Teter, seconded by Baumbach, to elect O'Dea as treasurer. Moved by Baumbach, seconded by Teter, to cease nominations. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer. Motion carried.

As there was no other reason for sine die, the meeting was resumed following the election of officers.

President Teter appointed O. McConville, Daffer, and Baumbach to the Americanism Committee; Daffer, J. McConville, and O'Dea to the Transportation Committee; Teter, Baumbach, and J. McConville to the Building and Grounds Committee; Teter, O'Dea, and O. McConville to the Negotiations Committee; and O. McConville to the Foundation Board.

Moved by Baumbach, seconded by O'Dea, to authorize all Board Officers to sign checks for the General, Contingency, Special Building, Depreciation, Employee Benefit, Bond, Cooperative and Qualified Capital Purpose Undertaking Funds in accordance with Board Policy 2002. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, Baumbach, O'Dea, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer. Motion carried.

Item 4 of New Business, discussion of facility security issues, will be addressed following the Administrators' reports.

Board members who may have potential conflicts reviewed and signed a Potential Conflict of Interest Statement as required by the Nebraska Accountability and Disclosure Commission.

Moved by Baumbach, seconded by O'Dea, to designate the Adams Bank & Trust and the State Bank of Bartley as the district's official depositories. Ayes: J. McConville, Baumbach, O'Dea, O. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by J. McConville, to designate the Indianola News as the district's official news publication. Ayes: J. McConville, O. McConville, Teter, Baumbach, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer. Motion carried.

Moved by Baumbach, seconded by J. McConville, to approve the purchase of an $8' \times 10'$ walk-in exterior freezer to be located at the elementary school from Rick's Heating and AC in the amount of \$15,173.05 and to be paid from the Depreciation Fund. Ayes: Teter, O'Dea, J. McConville, Baumbach, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer. Motion carried.

Moved by Teter, seconded by O. McConville, to designate KSB School Law as the district's legal counsel. Ayes: O'Dea, Teter, Baumbach, J. McConville, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer. Motion carried.

Superintendent Porter reported on upcoming Board member and administrator workshops, progress on the 2015-2016 school calendar, the elementary restroom renovation located near the office area and upgrades in the principal's office, and distributed a comparison of Nebraska school valuations and levies.

Principal Latta reported on the donation of dictionaries by the Rotary Club, the K-12 magician assembly, pancake breakfast, mailing of report cards, scheduled NeSA testing, and completion of Aimsweb testing.

Principal Springer reported on semester tests, upcoming NeSA and MAPS testing dates, reimplementation of an Accelerated Reading Program, and status of seniors on potential graduation timeline.

Moved by Teter, seconded by O'Dea, to go into closed session to discuss security issues for the protection of the public interest at 8:50 p.m. President Teter repeated the motion, and the Board voted. Ayes: J. McConville, Teter, O'Dea, Baumbach, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer. Motion carried.

President Teter declared the end of closed session at 9:51 p.m.

Moved by Baumbach, seconded by O. McConville, to adjourn the meeting at 9:52 p.m. Ayes: O'Dea, Teter, J. McConville, Baumbach, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Daffer. Motion carried.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, February 9, 2015, at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Elementary School in Indianola.