Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 January 11, 2016

Superintendent Todd Porter called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:31 p.m. on January 11, 2016 at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.

Present: Duane Teter, Ondrea McConville, Jenni McConville, John O'Dea, Lynda Baumbach, Steve Daffer, Principals Kathy Latta and Matt Springer, Superintendent Todd Porter, and Patricia Smith.

Absent: None.

Visitors: Mary Marsh, Jolene Miller, Don & Donna Behnke, Sarah Krause and Jason Kloepping.

Past-president Duane Teter presided at the meeting until election of officers.

Past-president Teter observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by Baumbach, seconded by O'Dea, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: Daffer, O. McConville, Baumbach, J. McConville, O'Dea, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by the board-approved method of meeting notice. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to all members prior to the meeting date.

Superintendent Porter informed the Board of student awards and recognition during the past month. Ellie Adam will be participating in the State FFA Honor Choir. Allison Rippe placed first in Ag Literacy Speaking, and the Southwest Junior-High Ag Quiz Bowl Team consisting of Jake O'Dea, Alyssa Springer, Allison Rippe, and Austin Adam placed fifth of thirty-two teams at a recent FFA competition. The National Honor Society and the Future Business Leaders of America caroled and delivered food plates on December 13<sup>th</sup> and delivered gifts and food baskets to twenty-two families on December 22<sup>nd</sup>. With the help of monetary donations from the Wilsonville Baptist Christian Church and the Bartley Masonic Lodge, coats and sweatshirts were purchased for fifty children within the district.

Moved by Daffer, seconded by Baumbach, to approve the minutes of the December 14, 2015 board meeting minutes as presented. Ayes: Baumbach, O. McConville, Daffer, J. McConville, O'Dea, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by J. McConville, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: Teter, O'Dea, J. McConville, Daffer, Baumbach, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented to the Board.

Superintendent Porter adjourned the meeting sine die to elect school board officers for the 2016 calendar year.

Moved by O'Dea to elect Teter as president. As there were no other nominations for the office of board president, Teter is president by default.

President Teter then presided during the remainder of the meeting.

Moved by J. McConville to elect O. McConville as vice-president. No other nominations were made for vice-president of the Board, thus O. McConville will remain as the Board Vice-President.

Moved by Daffer to nominate O'Dea as board treasurer. O'Dea will continue to preside as treasurer by default, as no other nominations were made.

J. McConville nominated Daffer for the office of board secretary. No other nominations were made. Daffer will retain the office of board secretary.

President Teter appointed O. McConville, Daffer, and Baumbach to the Americanism Committee; Daffer, J. McConville, and O'Dea to the Transportation Committee; Teter, Baumbach, and J. McConville to the Building and Grounds Committee; Teter, O'Dea, and O. McConville to the Negotiations Committee; and O'Dea to the Foundation Board.

Moved by Baumbach, seconded by J. McConville, to authorize all Board Officers to sign checks for the General, Contingency, Special Building, Depreciation, Employee Benefit, Bond, Cooperative and Qualified Capital Purpose Undertaking Funds in accordance with Board Policy 2002. Ayes: Daffer, Teter, O. McConville, Baumbach, O'Dea, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Baumbach, seconded by O'Dea, to designate the Adams Bank & Trust and the State Bank of Bartley as the district's official depositories. Ayes: J. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, O'Dea, O. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Daffer, to designate the Indianola News as the district's official news publication. Ayes: J. McConville, O. McConville, Daffer, Teter, Baumbach, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by J. McConville, to accept the resignation of elementary instructor Karen Brown. The Board thanked Mrs. Brown for her years of service to the district. Ayes: Teter, O'Dea, J. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Principal Springer discussed the number of credits required for graduation, and the need to possibly revise the number of vocational education electives to 30 elective education credits in any area. Board members asked questions and discussed the possible revision of graduation requirements and courses available for high school students.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Daffer, to take steps to reinstate the Industrial Arts program at the junior-senior high school. Ayes: Teter, O'Dea, J. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Board members voted to approve the 2016-2017 negotiated contract for certified staff, according to negotiations between the Southwest Teachers Association and the Board Negotiations Committee. Ayes: Daffer, O. McConville, J. McConville, Baumbach, O'Dea, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Item 10 of New Business, discussion of the principals' contracts, would be addressed following the Administrators' reports.

Superintendent Porter reported on final junior-senior high gym floor refinishing preparations, and elementary summer plans for refinishing the gym floor, and sidewalk and tuck-pointing projects. A vendor has been contacted to furnish a proposal for the practice gym ceiling. The elementary electrical upgrade project has been finalized except for the bell system, and the junior-senior high science room gas project and the gym awning project has been completed. Mr. Porter reminded the board members of the upcoming ESU Board Workshop in North Platte.

Principal Latta reported on the Rockin' Rider food drive and other projects, the fifth grade pajama drive contribution to HHS for use by foster children, the enrollment of four new students, the 2016-2017 Pre-K class has been filled with twenty students, and NeSA writing tests scheduled for January 27 and 28.

Principal Springer reported on the drop-out of a senior student to go into the workforce, and the remainder of senior students are on track to meet graduation requirements.

Moved by Teter, seconded by Daffer, to go into closed session to discuss personnel to protect the needless injury to the reputation of an individual at 8:35 p.m. President Teter repeated the motion, and

the Board voted. Ayes: J. McConville, Teter, O'Dea, Daffer, Baumbach, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

President Teter declared the end of closed session at 9:30 p.m.

Moved by Teter, seconded by Daffer, to renew the contracts with Kathy Latta as elementary principal and Matt Springer as the junior-senior high school principal for the 2016-2017 school year. Ayes: J. McConville, Teter, O'Dea, Daffer, Baumbach, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by Baumbach, to adjourn the meeting at 9:32 p.m. Ayes: O'Dea, Teter, J. McConville, Baumbach, Daffer, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, February 8, 2016, at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Elementary School in Indianola.