Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 February 10, 2014

President Duane Teter called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:33 p.m. on February 10, 2014 at the Southwest Elementary School in Indianola.

Present: Tom Sughroue, Steve McConville, Duane Teter, Kevin Potthoff, Steve Daffer, Principals Lynda Baumbach and Matt Springer, Superintendent Todd Porter, and Patricia Smith.

Absent: Ondrea McConville.

Visitors: Mary Marsh, Cody Gerlach, Linda Clark, and Mary Shirkey.

President Teter observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by S. McConville, to excuse absent Board Member O. McConville. Ayes: Sughroue, S. McConville, Daffer, Potthoff, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: O. McConville. Motion carried.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by Potthoff, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: Potthoff, Sughroue, Daffer, S. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: O. McConville. Motion carried.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by the board-approved method of meeting notice. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to all members prior to the meeting date.

Superintendent Porter reviewed the honors and awards of Southwest students during the past month.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by Sughroue, to approve the January 13, 2014 board meeting minutes as presented. Ayes: Daffer, Teter, S. McConville, Potthoff, and Sughroue. Nays: None. Absent: O. McConville. Motion carried.

O. McConville arrived at the meeting at 7:40 p.m.

Moved by Daffer, seconded by S. McConville, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: Potthoff, S. McConville, Sughroue, O. McConville, Daffer, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented to the Board.

Since no bids were received to renovate the elementary restrooms and locker rooms, the board discussed possible future action to update these areas of concern in the elementary building.

Moved by Potthoff, seconded by O. McConville, to go into closed session to discuss personnel to protect the needless injury to the reputation of individuals at 7:55 p.m. President Teter repeated the motion, and the Board voted. Ayes: S. McConville, Teter, Sughroue, Daffer, Potthoff, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

President Teter declared the end of closed session at 8:45 p.m.

Moved by Sughroue to approve the use of the Retirement Incentive Program, as presented, for two participants for the 2013-2014 school year. The motion failed for lack of a second.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by S. McConville, to proceed to investigate adding railing in the gym for safety purposes, purchase a curtain to close the entrances under the bleachers, add more handicapped parking at the junior-senior high building, and schedule a company to refinish the gym floors with an oil-based finish this summer. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, Daffer, O. McConville, Potthoff, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Potthoff, seconded by Daffer, to approve renewing the 2014-2015 membership in the Nebraska Association of School Boards. Ayes: Potthoff, Daffer, Sughroue, S. McConville, O. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

After discussion, a motion was made by Potthoff, seconded by Daffer, to approve the 2014-2015 school calendar as presented. Ayes: Potthoff, Sughroue, S. McConville, Daffer, O. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

No action was taken on the mini-van quotes by several vendors. The transportation committee will make a recommendation at the March board meeting concerning the purchase of a mini-van.

Moved by Potthoff, seconded by S. McConville, to approve the salary of the Superintendent's contract remain at \$120,000.00, the payment of \$5,000.00 to Principal Matt Springer as the transportation director, the minimum hourly rate of \$10.65 for classified staff, and those employees paid more than \$10.65 per hour will receive a 3.5% increase in their hourly rate for the 2014-2015 school year. Ayes: Sughroue, Potthoff, S. McConville, O. McConville, Daffer, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Potthoff, seconded by Daffer, to approve the Slate 30 tint for the windows in the Junior-Senior High School commons area. Ayes: Sughroue, Potthoff, S. McConville, O. McConville, Daffer, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by Sughroue, to approve the resignation of Linda Clark at the end of the 2013-2014 school year with appreciation for her 42 years of service. Ayes: Daffer, O. McConville, Sughroue, Potthoff, Teter, and S. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by Potthoff, to approve the purchase and training for the AptiFund accounting software from Harris School Solutions. Ayes: Sughroue, Daffer, S. McConville, Potthoff, O. McConville, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Superintendent Porter reported on meetings he attended in January and upcoming meetings scheduled for the next two months.

Prinicpal Springer discussed upcoming junior-senior high activities and the scheduled MAPS and NeSA testing in March.

Principal Baumbach discussed NeSA and MAPS testing at the elementary, CPR and First Aid certification for the daycare, attendance at Parent-Teacher Conferences, and upcoming activities.

Moved by Daffer, seconded by Potthoff, to adjourn the meeting at 10:05 p.m. Ayes: Sughroue, S. McConville, Daffer, Potthoff, Teter, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, March 10, 2014, at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.