Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 April 10, 2017

President Duane Teter called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:35 p.m. on April 10, 2017 at the Southwest Elementary School in Indianola.

Present: Duane Teter, Ondrea McConville, Jenni McConville, Jason Kloepping, John O'Dea, Principal Matt Springer, Superintendent Todd Porter, and Patricia Smith.

Absent: Lynda Baumbach.

Visitors: Cody Gerlach.

President Teter observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by Kloepping, to excuse absent Board Member Lynda Baumbach. Ayes: Kloepping, O. McConville, J. McConville, O'Dea, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by O. McConville, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: Kloepping, O. McConville, J. McConville, O'Dea, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by the board-approved method of meeting notice. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to all members prior to the meeting date.

Superintendent Porter informed Board members that Ellie Adams and Suzanne Roggenkamp were selected to participate in the State FFA Honor Chorus and reviewed FFA members' state contest results. The high school Quiz Bowl will participate in the State Meet in Holdrege on April 26. Instructor Sarah Krause reports good NeSA math scores. The junior high Quiz Bowl placed first at the Maywood and ESU #15 meets. Students participating in the Paint-In Art Show received numerous awards. Drew Minard qualified to attend the Natonal FBLA Conference with his contest results at State FBLA. Other FBLA members also received several awards at the recent contest. A Southwest Team was in second place in the State Stock Market Game with four days left in the competition.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by J. McConville, to approve the minutes of the March 13, 2017 board meeting minutes as presented. Ayes: O. McConville, Kloepping, J. McConville, O'Dea, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by O. McConville, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: O'Dea, Teter, J. McConville, Kloepping, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented to the Board.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by J. McConville, to approve the resignation of Sasha Burton, junior-senior high special education instructor, with thanks for her service to the district. Ayes: Kloepping, Teter, O. McConville, O'Dea and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Kloepping, to approve a contract with Jenna Robinson for the 2017-2018 school year as junior-senior high special education instructor. Ayes: Kloepping, Teter, O. McConville, O'Dea, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by J. McConville, to approve offering all currently employed teachers, unless they are retiring or relocating, a contract for the 2017-2018 school year as

recommended by the Administration. Ayes: Kloepping, Teter, O. McConville, O'Dea and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to accept the bid by The Glass Doctor in the amount of \$5,524.99 to replace the two east exterior entry doors of the elementary building. Ayes: Kloepping, Teter, O. McConville, O'Dea, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Superintendent Porter reported on attending the NRCSA Conference and the upcoming ESU Superintendents' meeting and the School Law Conference. He informed Board members of the recently installed Southwest students' RPAC Academic Awards plaque, and the upcoming District Music Contest and State Quiz Bowl competitions.

Principal Springer reported on the status of the 2017-2018 junior-senior high school class schedule, the State ACT Test for juniors, items to be auctioned on April 15, and the increased participation in Industrial Technology classes for the 2017-2018 school year.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by J. McConville, to adjourn the meeting at 8:20 pm. Ayes: O'Dea, Teter, J. McConville, Kloepping, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Baumbach. Motion carried.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, May 8, 2017, at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.