Board of Education Special Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 February 22, 2012

President Duane Teter called the special meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 6:33 p.m. on February 22, 2012, at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.

Present: Steve McConville, Steve Daffer, Tom Sughroue, Duane Teter, Kevin Potthoff, Principals Carrie Rasmussen and Matt Springer, and Superintendent Clayton Waddle.

Absent: Crinda McConville.

Visitors: Mary Marsh, Linda Clark, and Don Ellicott.

President Teter observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by Sughroue, to excuse absent Board Member Crinda McConville. Ayes: Potthoff, Sughroue, Daffer, Teter, and S. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: C. McConville. Motion carried.

Crinda McConville arrived at the meeting at 6:37 p.m.

Moved by Potthoff, seconded by Daffer, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: Daffer, Sughroue, Potthoff, C. McConville, Teter, and S. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by the board approved method of meeting notice. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to the president of the board and all members prior to the meeting date.

David Wilson of W Design Associates of McCook presented a three-phase plan describing possible demolition and updates of the 1923 building and gym along with a projected budget for each phase.

The Board went into recess at 7:40 p.m. and reconvened at 8:18 p.m.

The Board discussed short and long-range plans of the district submitted by board members, administration, and staff and took no action. Items of discussion included an elementary parking lot and reconfiguration of the playground space, updating curriculum on a rotating basis for all subjects, updating the elementary restrooms, technology upgrades, adding a junior high reading course, and scheduling junior high sports practices as a physical education course during school hours.

Moved by Potthoff, seconded by Daffer, to adjourn the meeting at 10:55 p.m. Ayes: S. McConville, Daffer, C. McConville, Potthoff, Sughroue, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.