Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 January 9, 2012

Vice-President Crinda McConville called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 8:01 p.m. on January 9, 2012 at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.

Present: Tom Sughroue, Kevin Potthoff, Crinda McConville, Steve McConville, Steve Daffer, Principals Carrie Rasmussen and Matt Springer, Superintendent Clayton Waddle, and Patricia Smith.

Absent: Duane Teter.

Visitors: Mary Marsh, Linda Clark, Allie McConville, and Don and Donna Behnke.

Vice-President McConville observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by Daffer, to excuse absent Board Member Duane Teter. Ayes: Potthoff, C. McConville, Sughroue, Daffer, and S. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by S. McConville, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: Daffer, Sughroue, Potthoff, C. McConville, and S. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by the board approved method of meeting notice. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to the president of the board and all members prior to the meeting date.

The Board was informed of students receiving awards and recognition during first semester.

Moved by Daffer, seconded by Sughroue, to approve the December 12, 2011 board meeting minutes as presented. Ayes: Sughroue, Potthoff, C. McConville, Daffer, and S. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by Potthoff, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: C. McConville, Sughroue, S. McConville, Daffer, and Potthoff. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Superintendent Waddle presented the treasurer's report to the Board.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by Sughroue, to adjourn the meeting sine die to elect board officers for the 2012 calendar year. Ayes: Daffer, S. McConville, C. McConville, Sughroue, and Potthoff. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by S. McConville, to retain Teter as president, C. McConville as vice-president, S. McConville as treasurer, and Daffer as secretary. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, Potthoff, C. McConville, and Daffer. Nays: None. Motion carried.

As there was no other reason for sine die, the meeting was resumed following the election of officers.

President Teter will appoint board members to serve on the Americanism, Transportation, Building and Grounds, and Negotiations Committees and to the Foundation Board at the February meeting.

Since Board members retained their current offices, no motion was needed to authorize new officers to sign checks for the General, Special Building, Depreciation, Employee Benefit, Bond and Qualified Capital Purpose Undertaking Funds.

The Board reviewed and signed the Code of Conduct document as written by the Nebraska Association of School Boards.

Board members who may have potential conflicts reviewed and signed a Potential Conflict of Interest Statement as required by the Nebraska Accountability and Disclosure Commission.

Moved by Potthoff, seconded by Sughroue, to designate the Adams Bank & Trust and the State Bank of Bartley as the district's official depositories. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, C. McConville, Potthoff, and Daffer. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by S. McConville, to designate the Indianola News as the district's official news publication. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, C. McConville, Potthoff, and Daffer. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by Daffer, seconded by Potthoff, to designate Harding & Shultz as the official school attorney for the district. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, C. McConville, Potthoff, and Daffer. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by Sughroue, to approve the contract with ESU #16 for distance education network courses and services in the amount of \$22,000.00. Ayes: Daffer, S. McConville, C. McConville, Sughroue, and Potthoff. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by Daffer, to recognize the Southwest Teachers' Association as the bargaining agent for the certified staff of Southwest Public Schools for the 2012-'13 and 2013-'14 school years. Ayes: C. McConville, Sughroue, Daffer, S. McConville, and Potthoff. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

The Board chose January 30 as the priority date to meet with the Village of Bartley Board members to discuss electricity rates and set January 25 as an alternate date.

Board members scheduled a special board meeting on February 22, 2012 at 6:30 p.m. to discuss short and long range planning for the district.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by Sughroue, to approve the resignation of Cindy Schluckebier with thanks for her 6.5 years of service to the district. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, C. McConville, Daffer, and Potthoff. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by Daffer, to approve the resignation of Ron Casper with appreciation for his 37 years of service to the district. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, C. McConville, Potthoff, and Daffer. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Superintendent Waddle summarized the January 2 inservice as the instructors reviewed and evaluated data collected by student testing and the NPPD report on ideas for lessening power consumption in the junior-senior high building primarily by replacing metal halide lighting in the gym and ag shop areas. He also mentioned the annual report to patrons which was published in the January newsletter and installation of a bus camera in the recently purchased used bus.

Principal Springer reported on upcoming January events at the junior-senior high, the beginning of second semester drivers' education classes, new students and an increase in enrollment, and the review of current district graduation requirements.

Principal Rasmussen thanked the Board for allowing the elementary staff to participate in the Boys Town Training held in December. She reported on upcoming student testing, staff changes, DARE training, and upcoming meetings and workshops she plans to attend.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by S. McConville, to adjourn the meeting at 9:01 p.m. Ayes: Daffer, C. McConville, Sughroue, S. McConville, and Potthoff. Nays: None. Absent: Teter. Motion carried.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, February 13, 2012, at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Elementary School in Indianola.