Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 February 13, 2012

President Duane Teter called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:30 p.m. on February 13, 2012 at the Southwest Elementary School in Indianola.

Present: Tom Sughroue, Kevin Potthoff, Crinda McConville, Steve McConville, Steve Daffer, Duane Teter, Principals Carrie Rasmussen and Matt Springer, Superintendent Clayton Waddle, and Patricia Smith.

Absent: None.

Visitors: Mary Marsh, Joleen Miller, Linda Clark, Don and Donna Behnke, Dennis Troester, Don Ellicott, Bernard Walz, Rick and Allie McConville, Jack Ryan, Mike Daffer, Virgil and Eunice Guthrie, Brice, Gina, and Zack Riley, David, Tammy, and Chase Downey, and Rick, Ann, and Tanner Teel.

President Teter observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by S. McConville, seconded by Potthoff, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: Daffer, Sughroue, Potthoff, C. McConville, Teter, and S. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by the board approved method of meeting notice. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to the president of the board and all members prior to the meeting date.

Linda Clark presented the Board members with cards and gifts in recognition of School Board Recognition Week on behalf of the Southwest Teachers Association.

Zack Riley, Tanner Teel, and Chase Downey apologized to their parents, team members, coaches, fans, and board members for their recent actions.

Rick Teel and Mike Daffer also addressed the Board.

The Board was informed of students receiving awards and recognition during January.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by Daffer, to approve the January 9th and 30th, 2012 board meeting minutes as presented. Ayes: Sughroue, Potthoff, C. McConville, Daffer, Teter, and S. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by C. McConville, seconded by S. McConville, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: C. McConville, Sughroue, S. McConville, Daffer, Teter, and Potthoff. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Superintendent Waddle presented the treasurer's report to the Board.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by S. McConville, to accept the early retirement incentive applications for Ron Casper and Dennis Troester with gratitude for their years of service to the district. Ayes: Daffer, Sughroue, C. McConville, S. McConville, and Teter. Nays: Potthoff. Motion carried.

Moved by Daffer, seconded by C. McConville, to continue membership in the Nebraska Association of School Boards for the 2012-2013 school year. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, C. McConville, Daffer, Teter, and Potthoff. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Superintendent Waddle discussed the format used to request suggestions from the staff for short and long range goal planning topics with distribution planned for February 14.

Moved by C. McConville, seconded by Potthoff, to allow Superintendent Clayton L. Waddle to transact business on behalf of the district at financial institutions. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, Potthoff, C. McConville, Teter, and Daffer. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by C. McConville, seconded by S. McConville, to approve the enrollment option applications for the children of Tamara Lammie. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, C. McConville, Potthoff, Teter, and Daffer. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Daffer, seconded by Sughroue, to approve the enrollment option application for the child of Barbara Cruz. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, C. McConville, Potthoff, Teter, and Daffer. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Potthoff, seconded by Sughroue, to approve the enrollment option applications for the children of Michael Gonzales. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, C. McConville, Potthoff, Teter, and Daffer. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by C. McConville, seconded by S. McConville, to approve the enrollment option application for the child of Manuela Larusso. Ayes: Daffer, S. McConville, C. McConville, Sughroue, Teter, and Potthoff. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Daffer, seconded by C. McConville, to approve the enrollment option application for the child of Janie Steer. Ayes: C. McConville, Sughroue, Daffer, S. McConville, Teter, and Potthoff. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Sughroue, seconded by S. McConville, to approve the enrollment option application for the child of Carolyn McElhaney. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, C. McConville, Daffer, Teter, and Potthoff. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by C. McConville, seconded by Daffer, to approve the enrollment option application for the child of Judy Green. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, C. McConville, Potthoff, Teter, and Daffer. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Potthoff, seconded by S. McConville, to revise Board Policy 4032 - Professional Growth. Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, C. McConville, Potthoff, Teter, and Daffer. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Superintendent Waddle reported on the projected budget for various remodeling projects concerning the 1923 building, a joint meeting with the Village of Bartley Board, the possibility of cooping girls' golf and continuance of cooping swimming with the McCook High School, 2012-'13 state aid projections, acceptance of auditor bids, and the replacement of the elementary boiler.

Principal Springer reported on the attendance of an Infinite Campus workshop, history instructor applications and interviews, student enrollment, and graduation course pre-requisites.

Principal Rasmussen reported on Parent-Teacher Conference participation, preschool applications and kindergarten registration for the 2012-'13 school year, state writing assessments, Check For Learning ability to mark progress, and MAP and NeSA testing.

Moved by Teter, seconded by Sughroue, to enter into closed session following a ten-minute recess to discuss pending litigation for the protection of public interest at 9:10 p.m. President Teter repeated the motion, and the board voted as follows: Ayes: S. McConville, Sughroue, C. McConville, Potthoff, Teter, and Daffer. Nays: None. Motion carried.

President Teter reconvened open session at 9:27 p.m.

Moved by Potthoff, seconded by Sughroue, to adjourn the meeting at 9:28 p.m. Ayes: Daffer, C. McConville, Sughroue, S. McConville, Teter, and Potthoff. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, March 12, 2012, at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.